UK Bike.com
THE UK'S LEADING MOTORCYCLE REVIEW SITE
Home |  Bikes For Sale |  Parts & Accessories |  Place An Ad |  Members |  Reviews |  Forum

UK Bike Forum
Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On
Welcome Guest ( Login | Register )
        


««12345»»»

Bike scam alert Expand / Collapse
Author
Message
Posted 2nd April 2010 17:58
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: 14th November 2010 18:19
Posts: 7, Visits: 90
ALERT THIS IS THE VERY SAME BIKE THAT SUPPOSED TO BE IN PETERHEAD SCOTLAND. IT IS NOW IN ROTHERHAM http://motoring.friday-ad.co.uk/FullAdDetails.asp?AdRef=YI008IFB6

 

APPROACH WITH CAUTION

Live long and ride free!

Post #4187
Posted 6th April 2010 18:19
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: 6th April 2010 18:19
Posts: 4, Visits: 6
Good to see people picking up on these scams. One word of caution: a few have mentioned about stringing these fraudsters along. Don't, whatever you do, say what your intentions are. "They" doubtless read the forums so don't make it easy for them to stay one step ahead.

I find it incredible to learn than this website disclaims any responsibility for what is simply theft by deception. Maybe M.C.N. could pick up on the story and run an article.

I was thinking about selling my '96 750 Virago to reduce my losses. Guess which web site I won't be using.

All this plus emails I've received were passed on to the local police who are working on the case. 

Post #4189
Posted 7th April 2010 20:58
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: 8th April 2010 09:22
Posts: 5, Visits: 13
Hi again !!! After My close call, I also handed all the emails to and from Michael Mannings, the print off of "the shipping website" and everything, to the Police,  but was told not to expect much,

Looking through the amount of to good to be true prices on this site I recon they are running plenty of scams....It is disgusting that UKBIKE.COM cant or wont do anything about it.  The least they could do is put a large heading on thier home pageto make people aware. I too am going to contact MCN to see if they wanna pick up on this racket and shame UKBIKE into doing something.

True bikers stick together,,,,,,,,,Which is something that cant be said for UKBIKE, When they have people being fleeced out of hard earned money by running these adds.

When I brought it to thier attention, I was told to contact the line provider,,,,,what ever that was supposed to mean.

Post #4190
Posted 8th April 2010 09:22
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: 8th April 2010 09:22
Posts: 5, Visits: 13
They now have 2 Triumph Speedmasters  for sale here on this site, The one I nearly bought from "Micheal Mannings" and now they have 1 in Newton Abbot advertised so beware
Post #4191
Posted 16th April 2010 09:40
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: 14th November 2010 18:19
Posts: 7, Visits: 90
I must of upset the scammers. They aren`t replying to my emails. Maybe something I said.

Live long and ride free!
Post #4192
Posted 7th May 2010 11:39
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: 7th May 2010 11:38
Posts: 2, Visits: 10
Wow , so many people on this same site , I did inform uk bike of this scam and they checked it out and removed the advert, but I can see there not checking them all so, if in doubt don't get your cash out !
Post #4195
Posted 19th May 2010 17:25
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: 19th May 2010 17:25
Posts: 1, Visits: 3
Nearly struck again,

But managed to avoid it..........Went onto google maps and located 11 Charlotte street, Peterhead. Found out that it was a car repairs shop and then saw a phone number on the door of the place. I called the guy up and asked if he had a Yamaha Rhino there and if he knew who "Ron Barrow" was. He told me that he had never heard of them, and that the police and trading standards had raided the poor sole's premises a couple of weeks ago. Not a happy chappy:-(

The transaction is supposed to go through tomorrow, but am leaving it open if trading standards or the police want to intervine - unlikely but will keep you informed.

Dannyboy
Post #4198
Posted 31st May 2010 19:04
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: 16th June 2010 11:27
Posts: 2, Visits: 13
There's a Buell XB12STT on the Ads section at the moment I e-mailed and asked for details on...

They sent me the Reg no problems (to HPi the bike etc,) but guess what? The bike was at a shipping agents in Peterhead and they wanted paying through Western Union too - Scamming gits
Post #4199
Posted 31st May 2010 19:12
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: 16th June 2010 11:27
Posts: 2, Visits: 13
Here's another one: http://www.ukbike.com/2008_BMW_R_1200/YI01781D4/

An '08 BMW 1200 GS for £2,600...

Where's my bank book?
Post #4200
Posted 5th June 2010 13:00
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: 14th November 2010 18:19
Posts: 7, Visits: 90
The`re at it again. At least 3 Harleys at give away prices-i`ll get my check book!

http://www.ukbike.com/2003_HARLEY-DAVIDSON_V-ROD_VRSCA/YI018C519/ This is one but I have asked it and the others to be removed. They are, when I say this please forgive me for swearing, "bastards"

Live long and ride free!

Post #4202
« Prev Topic | Next Topic »

««12345»»»

Reading This Topic Expand / Collapse
Active Users: 0 (0 guests, 0 members, 0 anonymous members)
No members currently viewing this topic.

Permissions Expand / Collapse

All times are GMT, Time now is 5:36am

Powered By InstantForum.NET v4.1.3 © 2012
Execution: 0.766. 12 queries. Compression Disabled.