UK Bike.com
THE UK'S LEADING MOTORCYCLE REVIEW SITE
Home |  Bikes For Sale |  Parts & Accessories |  Place An Ad |  Members |  Reviews |  Forum

UK Bike Forum
Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On
Welcome Guest ( Login | Register )
        



SCAM ALERT Expand / Collapse
Author
Message
Posted 5th April 2008 13:18
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: 5th April 2008 13:18
Posts: 2, Visits: 2
The website
ATVUSED.T75.com
which advertises on this site is part of an international scam operation. They are offering non-existent quad bikes for sale

At present the email of the "salesman" is:
brooke.timothy@yahoo.com (those emails come from the USA)

He will advise you that the shipping company will be in touch and that your money will be placed in escrow until your bike is deliverd and you are happy with it.

The website of the shipping company is:
international-shipping-express.com
the site is offline at present. It quotes its office addresses as being the same as UPS, it also quotes the UPS company registration number. It is, of course nothing to do with UPS.

They have been very successful in Canada and the UK so far we have been told about £73k worth of fraud, the whole set up is very convincing.

This was all discovered by a report to our website wevet.com. If you have a scam you would like known and pursued or indeed to praise any business let us know.

www.wevet.com praise the good - punish the bad
Post #2308
Posted 7th April 2008 08:57


Supreme Being

Supreme BeingSupreme BeingSupreme BeingSupreme BeingSupreme BeingSupreme BeingSupreme BeingSupreme Being

Group: Administrators
Last Login: 15th July 2009 14:41
Posts: 377, Visits: 2,187
Check!

One of the downfalls of the freedom of the net, We try and scrutineer everything that comes in by way of content, but some slip through the net either because of clever wording or because a non motorcycle team check content over the weekend .

This guy placed 190 ads on site over last weekend in pretty much every category.

You can't blame the bloke for trying, but naturally it raised an eyebrow or two. I sent him an e-mail giving him 24 hours to respond to various questions I had mainly regarding the validity of the ads.

There was no response so all his ads were removed by our systems tech's.

Thanx for the heads up though.

If anybody else has any concerns about any advertisers, please contact info@ukbike.com we'll do our damnedist to look into every enquiry you have

BC

Channel Manager

Sideways through time

Post #2311
« Prev Topic | Next Topic »


Reading This Topic Expand / Collapse
Active Users: 0 (0 guests, 0 members, 0 anonymous members)
No members currently viewing this topic.

Permissions Expand / Collapse

All times are GMT, Time now is 6:28am

Powered By InstantForum.NET v4.1.3 © 2012
Execution: 0.266. 12 queries. Compression Disabled.